The Race Must go on…

Right now I should be at Prospect Park gearing up for my Rock & Roll Race and doing some last minute stretches/warm ups. Or depending on what time you’re reading this, my feet should be swiftly pounding the pavements. Instead, I am at work.

I will not pretend here, I was pissed when they told me I had to work today. I had been conditioning my body about a month for this. I even paid for the non-refundable registration in advance, because I had no doubt that I would be able to do the race.

But as life would have it, I planned and things didn’t go my way. Being upset about my current situation would get me nowhere. So instead of just being upset about it. I tried to salvage my efforts.

The race was for a good cause and I happened to know quite a few people who love doing races. So I sucked it up, took a bite of humble pie, and gave my registration to one of them.

All in all, I’m happy that I helped the cause, my friend owes me one big time, and I’m still in good standing at work.

What can I say, life hands you lemons, you hand it back the best damn Lemon Cake it’s ever eaten!

Hope you all are doing well,

Kay Wanderz

Leave a Reply

